How Many Continents Does The Equator Cross From Largest To Smallest?


3 Answers

James Parnell Profile
James Parnell answered
The equator crosses a total of three continents, which are (from largest to smallest): Asia, Africa and South America.

The equator is an imaginary line which bisects the planet, dividing the northern and southern hemispheres.

The line is equidistant from both the north and south poles and is roughly 40,075 km in length.

How many continents does the equator cross from largest to smallest?
Although the line only crosses three continents, of which the largest is Asia and the smallest is South America, it crosses a total of fourteen different countries and/or their territorial waters. These include:

  • Sao Tome and Principe.
  • Gabon.
  • Republic of the Congo.
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo.
  • Uganda.
  • Kenya.
  • Somalia.
  • Maldives.
  • Indonesia, (Batu Islands, Sumatra, Lingga Islands, Borneo, Sulawesi, Kayoa and Halmahera Islands, Gebe Island and Waigeo Island).
  • Kirabti, (the line passes just south of the the Aranuka atoll).
  • United States, (baker island - a minor outlaying island).
  • Ecuador.
  • Colombia.
  • Brazil.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
The continents which cross the equator are Africa, Asia and South America.

Answer Question