How Is Eumycophyta Classified?


1 Answers

Sudipa Sarkar Profile
Sudipa Sarkar answered
Eumycophyta is divided into the following classes:

(a) Chytridiomycetes (chytrids) – one-celled to typical mycelial forms (coenocytic) producing motile reproductive cells, each with a single posterior, flagellum. They are primarily saprophytes or parasites, mostly microscopic organisms, found in water.
(b) Oomycetes (water molds, white rusts, and downy mildews) – one-celled to a much-branched filamentous body (mycelium) producing motile reproductive cells, each with a pair of different types of flagella. They are saprophytes or parasites – some causing serious diseases in plants like white rusts and downy mildews.
(c) Zygomycetes (bread molds, fly fungi, animal trapping fungi) – much-branched mycelial (coenocytic) forms only, producing a sexual dormant spore called zygospore; flagellated cells lacking altogether.
(d) Ascomycetes (sac fungi) – multi-cellular mycelial forms (one-celled in a few, e.g. yeasts) producing haploid (with a single set of chromosomes) spores called ascospores inside a sac-like ascus, products of sexual reproduction.
(e) Basidiomycetes (club fungi) - multi-cellular mycelial forms producing haploid spores, the basidiospores (usually 4) in club-shaped basidia, products of sexual reproduction.
(f) Deuteromycetes (imperfect fungi) – mostly multi-cellular mycelial forms reproducing asexually. This constitutes an artificial group containing diverse kinds of fungi known only by their asexual reproductive structure.

Answer Question