What Are The Three Main Components Of Formed Elements?


1 Answers

Tash Naz Profile
Tash Naz , Freelance Writer, answered

The three main components of Formed Elements are as follows:

  • Red blood cell
  • White blood cell
  • Platelets

These three combined components create a formed element. You may find that people refer to the components by different names. Red blood cells are also known as erythrocyte and white blood cells can also be referred to as leukocyte.

You also may also find that platelets are also called thrombocyte. When describing the three main components you can choose to use their scientific name e.g erythrocyte or their simple name e.g red blood cells.

Red blood cells transport oxygen and nutrients in addition to removing metabolic waste from the blood stream. White blood cells regulate body temperature and fluid composition and platelets offer protection against inflammation and infection. All three work together to keep our body running effectively.

I hope that helps to answer your question :)

Answer Question