What Are The Dimensions Of Earth?


2 Answers

Rajesh Shri Profile
Rajesh Shri answered
The shape of the Earth is unique in the sense that is not perfectly spherical. It is slightly flattened at the poles and bulges at the equator; this typical shape of the Earth is known as geoid.

The area of the Earth is 197,260,000 sq miles or 510,900,000 sq km; the land surface including the continental land masses and islands is approximately 57,510,000 sq miles (148,939,100 sq km) while the water surface covers an area of about 139,440,000 sq miles (361,126,400 sq km).

Due to the geoids shape of the Earth the equatorial circumference and diameter is different as compared to the polar circumference and the diameter. The equatorial circumference of the Earth is 24,902 miles (40,075 km) while the meridional circumference is 24,860 miles (40,008 km).

The equatorial diameter is 7927 miles (12,756 km) while the polar diameter is 7900 miles (12,713 km). The equatorial radius is 3963.34 miles (6378 km) and the polar radius is 3950 miles (6356.75 km). The volume of the Earth is 260,000,000,000 cubic miles (1083207300000 cubic km).

Answer Question