What Are The Zones Of The Earth?


6 Answers

Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered

The earth is divided into geographical zones by five major circles of latitude, namely, The Arctic Circle, the Tropic of Cancer, the Equator, the Tropic of Capricon and the Antarctic Circle.

The areas north of the Arctic Circle and south of the Antarctic Circle are the north and south frigid zones, respectively. They are also called the polar regions. The center of the zone, called the pole, experiences six months of daylight and six months of night. This region is subject to severe winters. The north frigid zone includes northern Canada, Alaska and northern Russia. The south frigid zone comprises the continent of Antarctica.

The north and south temperate zone lie between the Arctic Circle and the Tropic of Cancer and between the Tropic of Capricorn and the Antarctic Circle. Mild climatic conditions prevail here. The sun is never overhead. This zone experiences four annual seasons, Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter. The North Temperate Zone includes Europe, northern Asia and North America. The South Temperate Zone includes southern Australia, New Zealand, southern South America and South Africa.

The tropics are the region of the Earth centered on the Equator and limited by the Tropics of Cancer and Capricorn. This is the hottest part of the earth. It experiences two annual seasons, a dry summer and a wet summer. The tropics include most of Africa, southern Asia, Indonesia, northern Australia, Central America and northern South America.

Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Earth Zones are areas of the earth. These areas are just the way climatologists etc categorise or label parts of . The earth is grouped into zones based on its climate, temperature and rainfall.

Aristotle first suggested 3 simple zones.
1. The Frigid Zone (this includes Arctic & Antarctic regions)
2. The Temperate Zones - North of the Tropic of Cancer and South of the Tropic of Capricorn
3. The Torrid zones at the middle of Earth around the Equator. Aristotle thought this was the only place people could live.(he was lives almost everywhere on earth)

Sadly or fortunately, someone had to go and complicate things...Wladimir Koppen ...later categorised the earth into 6 zones. These are what is more popularly used today...according to my research. They are:. Zone A, Zone B, Zone C, Zone D, Zone E & . Zone H
A for Tropical Humid
B for Dry
C for Mild Mid-Latitude
D for Severe Mid-Latitude
E for Polar
H for Highland
For more info, Check out:
vamshi krishna Profile
vamshi krishna answered
Tropic of cancer,equator,tropic of capricorn,arctic and antarctic
Steve Robinson Profile
Steve Robinson answered
Time zones and climactic zones are two I can think of right now... I'm sure there are more.
Hassan Raza Profile
Hassan Raza answered
The earth has its own characteristics. All the things on the earth have their own ups and downs. Just like this different scientist's and people all over the world have their own analysis, experiences, and researches. Like modern science it gives us a lot of solutions these days, every day science has very quick search, reports, and articles. But the proper decision of most of the scientists is as follow. They divided the earth zones in four major types. These four zones are under below.

Torrid Zone: It lies between 23 North and 23 South that is between the tropic Cancer and the tropic Capricorn. This is the hottest zone, since the rays of sun are more nearly perpendicular here than in nay other zone.

North Temperate Zone: It lies between 23 North and 66 North. This zone has a marked annual range of temperature.

South Temperate Zone: It lies between 66 North and 90 South. It is extremely cold throughout the year.

South Frigid Zone: It lies between 66 South and 90 South. It too is extremely cold throughout the year.

That is the most acceptable answer every where on the earth. Mean to say in the news, media, electronic media etc.

Answer Question