What Are The Four Classes Of Neurotransmitter?


1 Answers

Kath Senior Profile
Kath Senior answered
Neurotransmitters are chemicals that carry signals between nerve cells, allowing information to pass around the nervous system without being interrupted at the junction between separate cells.

There are four classes of neurotransmitter. The first contains the very common and well known transmitter, acetylcholine. The nerve cells that produce acetylcholine are described as cholinergic. The second group consists of amino acids. The main ones in this group are gamma-aminobutyric acid (GABA), glycine and glutamate. The third group, the monoamines contains the well known transmitters noradrenaline, dopamine and serotonin. Nerve cells that produce monoamine transmitters are referred to as adrenergic. The final class is the neuropeptides, which include the endorphins.

Neurotransmitters are released at the end of nerve cells, at structures called synapses. They diffuse across the gap between the nerve cells and then bind to receptors on the other side of the synaptic cleft. This interaction causes change in the membrane of the next nerve cell and a new electrical pulse is set up that travels along the nerve axon.

Answer Question