Which Are The Countries Border The Mediterranean Sea?


3 Answers

Rajesh Shri Profile
Rajesh Shri answered
The Mediterranean Sea is bordered by Europe to the north and Africa to its South while to its east lie the Anatolia Peninsula and the Middle East and to its west it is connected to the Atlantic Ocean by the Strait of Gibraltar; the Black Sea is not considered to be a part of the Mediterranean.

The countries bordering the Mediterranean in all 22 are Spain, France, Monaco, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Greece, Turkey and the island nations of Cyprus and Malta in Europe; Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Algeria and Morocco in Africa and Turkey, Syria, Lebanon and Israel in Asia.

There are a number of islands situated in the Mediterranean the major ones by way of land area being Cyprus, Crete, Lesbos, Rhodes, Corfu, Malta, Sardinia, Corsica, Sicily, Majorca, Ibiza and Minorca among others. Some of the countries which indirectly come under the influence of the Mediterranean by way of its climate are Portugal, Armenia and Serbia.

The Mediterranean has played a major role in shaping the various cultures on its coasts since ancient times from the Egyptian, Semitic and Greek civilizations to the Roman and Phoenician ones and from the later day Turkish to the present countries bordering to the sea the Mediterranean has served as a ling in matters of trade and culture as well and has given rise to the typical Mediterranean climate in the region.
simon wagstaff Profile
simon wagstaff answered
The larger islands consist of cyprus,crete,euboea,rhodes,lesbos,chios,kefolonia and corfu.

The eastern part sardinia,corsica,sicilly, malta and the central ibiza,majorca,minorca and the balearic islands.
Lily James Profile
Lily James answered

Mediterranean Sea is basically a sea in the Altantic Ocean which is surrounded mostly by land and is in Mediterranean region. It has an area of 2.5 million kilometer square.

It has Europe towards the North, Africa towards the South and Asia towards the East. That is why it got this name which means " In the Middle of the land."

Mediterranean Sea has 21 states at its various borders that are from Africa, Asia and Europe. These are:

- Spain
- France
- Monaco
- Italy
- Malta
- Slovenia
- Croatia
- Bosnia and Herzegovina
- Montenegro
- Alabania
- Greece
- European part of Turkey

- Turkey
- Cyprus
- Syria
- Lebanon
- Israel
- Asian Part of Egypt

- Egypt
- Libya
- Tunisia
- Algeria
- Morocco

Apart from these states, it also borders
- British territory of Gibraltor
- Spanish enclave of Ceuta and Melilla
- British area of Akrotiri and Dhekelia
- Palestinian territories

Answer Question