Why is hydrogen included in activity series of metals?


1 Answers

Adam Yare Profile
Adam Yare answered
In chemistry the reactivity series, also known as the activity series, is a list of metals in order of their reactivity from highest to lowest.

  • The Reactivity Series
The metals included in the reactivity series are listed in order as follows:

Potassium (K)   - Very Reactive
Sodium (Na)
Calcium (Ca)

Magnesium (Mg) - Fairly Reactive
Aluminum (Al)
Carbon (C)
Zinc ( Zn)

Iron (Fe) - Not Very Reactive
Tin (Sn)
Lead (Pb)
Hydrogen (H)
Copper (Cu)

Silver (Sg) - Not Reactive
Gold (Au)
Platinum (Pt)

  • Non-metals
The reactivity series contains two elements that are not metal, these include carbon and hydrogen.

Specifically focusing on hydrogen, though it is not a metal and can be found on the periodic table as a 'non-material'. When in contact with water, acids and single displacement reactions, it behaves very much like a metal, in that it acquires a positive charge.

  • Further details
For further information on the reactivity series it is recommended that you refer to a text book or periodical, which can be purchased from all good book shops and online at amazon.com
Alternatively if still in education you should consult your teacher or professor, who will be able to give you a more detailed practical example of the different reactions.

Answer Question