What Is Normalization And What Are The Different Levels Of Normalization?


2 Answers

Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Normalization is a process to select which attributes should be grouped with each other in a relation. Normalization is used to improve logical design in such a way that it satisfies certain constraints and at the end we get the data without any duplication. There are six normal forms exist but normally we check the data up to third normal form and it is recommended that if we check data up to third normal form then it is guarantee that the purpose of normalization is achieved.

A normal form can be defined as a state of relation and this state we get when we apply simple rules to that relation. So we can say that normalization is the chain of steps and this chain of steps take a relation from one NF (Normal Form) State to another until we get to the desired NF state.
Six levels of normalization or six steps of normalization are given below.
(1) 1st Normal Form
(2) 2nd normal Form
(3) 3rd Normal Form
(4) Boyce-Codd Normal form which is normally known as BCNF.
(5) 4th Normal Form
(6) 5th Normal Form
(7) Domain key normal Form
We will only have to take a relation into third normal form

Answer Question