Find Names Of The Volcanoes In The Caribbean Region Which Are Dormant, Active, and Extinct?


1 Answers

Tim Cook Profile
Tim Cook answered

There are volcanoes in 8 Caribbean nations: Dominica, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Montserrat, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia and St Vincent & the Grenadines. Most are inactive.

The volcano causing most scientific interest is the Soufriere Hills volcano of Montserrat. This erupted in 1995 (pictured) after lying dormant for 350 years, an eruption that continued for 4 years, destroying the capital city of Plymouth and the island's airport. The volcano is still regarded as 'restless' and is under constant observation.

Other Volcanoes in the Region:

  • Saba; Quill (former Dutch Antilles, technically Dutch property)
  • Liamuiga; Nevis Peak (St Kitts & Nevis)
  • Kick'em Jenny; St Catherine (Grenada)
  • Grande Soufriere (Guadeloupe)
  • Mt. Pelee (Martinique)
  • Qualibou (St Lucia)
  • La Soufriere (St Vincent)
  • The Boiling Lake; Morne aux Diables; Morne Diabolitins; Morne Troix Pitons; Morne Watt (Dominica)

These volcanoes are either dormant or extinct.

Here's more on the ongoing Montserrat incident:

Answer Question