What Countries Make Up The Lesser Antilles?


1 Answers

Victoria Picking Profile

The Lesser Antilles are made up of a series of Islands in the Caribbean sea.

It is actually made up of over 45 islands, so too many to list here, but some one the main ones are:

  • Trinidad
  • Tobago
  • Barbuda
  • Antigua
  • Montserrat
  • Dominica
  • Saint Lucia
  • Barbados
  • Grenada
  • Aruba
  • Puerto Rica

The islands are divided into three main groups.The Leeward Islands, Windward Islands and Leeward Antilles. These names are to do with the trade wind and the way that boats sail towards them. This made it easy to group them.

They are located in an arc just north of South America,and together with the Greater Antilles makes up the West Indies, or better known, the Caribbean.

Many of these islands have separate governments and currencies etc. So are either different countries or territories. The territories in the Lesser Antilles are the Virgin Islands which are owned by the US and the UK, Aruba which is owned by the Netherlands and Guadeloupe which is owned by France.

Answer Question