How Many Planets Revolve Around The Sun?


5 Answers

Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
There are 8 planets that orbit our sun. Pluto is no longer considered a planet - sorry, Pluto fans...

In order of their distances from the Sun, the eight planets are:
  1. Mercury
  2. Venus
  3. Earth
  4. Mars
  5. Jupiter
  6. Saturn
  7. Uranus
  8. Neptune
Katie Harry Profile
Katie Harry answered
The sun and the planets that revolve around it are collectively known as the solar system. There are eight planets in the solar system.

The names of these planets are:

  • Mercury
  • Venus
  • Earth
  • Mars
  • Jupiter
  • Saturn
  • Uranus
  • Neptune

Out of all these planets, Earth is the only one known to have life on it.

The first four planets that are closest to the sun are known as terrestrial planets because they all have solid, rocky surfaces.

The next four are known as gas giants.
suman kumar Profile
suman kumar answered
Eight planets revolve around the sun.
S. AKASH. Profile
S. AKASH. answered
Dom Mann Profile
Dom Mann answered
In my honest opinion, the word "planet" is obsolete.

There is no meaningful collection of sun-orbiters that can be classified as "planets" without serious objection!

There are five large, rocky inner orbits (Earth/moon is a binary system). There's a belt of small rocky asteroids. Four gas giants. An unknown number of icy Kuiper objects. Unknown number of eccentric orbiting "comets".

Some are large enough to compress into spheres - but so what? Mars has more in common with the moon than with Saturn.

Answer Question