What Are The Four Main Types Of Fungi?


6 Answers

Vincent Davis Profile
Vincent Davis answered
There are four phyla, or divisions of fungi: Zygomycota, Ascomycota, Basidiomycota, and Deuteromycota.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Zygomycota is your common molds,
basidiomycota is your club fungi,
deuteromycota is your imperfect fungi, and
ascomycota is your sac fungi
Aisha Profile
Aisha answered
According to my information, there are 7 main groups of fungi which are based on their reproductive structures. These are:
- Chytridiomycota or chytrids. They undergo zygotic meiosis.
- Blastocladiomycota are saprotrophs and parasites of all eukaryotic groups. They undergo sporic meiosis.
- Neocallimastigomycota are anaerobic organisms They lack mitochondria. They form zoospores that are posteriorly nanoflagellate or polyflagellate.
- Zygomycota reproduce sexually with meiospores called zygospores and asexually with sporangiospores.
- Glomeromycota reproduce asexually.
- Ascomycota are sac fungi. They undergo asexual reproduction  
- Basidiomycota or club fungi produce meiospores called basidiospores. For details see the link below:
Types of Fungi
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
1. Mushrooms
2. Mold
3. Yeasts
4. Mildew

Answer Question