What Is The Capital City Of Korea?


6 Answers

Yo Kass Profile
Yo Kass answered
The Korean peninsula is split into two separate countries: North Korea and South Korea, both with their own capital cities. The capital city of North Korea is Pyongyang, whilst the capital city of South Korea is Seoul.
In the aftermath of World War II, Korea was divided into two separate partitions. The North (the 'Democratic People's Republic of Korea') fell under Soviet control and had Pyongyang as its capital. South Korea (or the 'Republic of Korea') was under the control of the other allied countries and its capital is Seoul, in the North-west of the country.

South Korea's got Seoul

Seoul is the largest and most populated metropolis of South Korea with over 10 million inhabitants, and the metropolitan area of the 'Seoul National Capital Area' is the world's second largest with over 25 million residents.

The city, located on the Han river, has a long history that dates back to the year 18BC. Today it is one of the leading 'mega-cities' of the world, and is renowned for its technologically advanced infrastructure (4G and WiFi are available on all buses and subways!).

Seoul is home to recognizable multinational companies such as LG, Samsung and Hyundai-Kia and the main air-terminus is the award winning Incheon airport.

Areas like the Jung-gu district epitomize the diversity of Korea, with modern, neon-lit streets only moments away from the traditional Korean architecture of Bukchang-dong.


Similar to its southern counterpart, Pyongyang also sits on a major river artery, namely the Taedong River. However, there's not as much information available regarding Pyongyang as there is on other capital cities, and this is chiefly due to the reclusive nature of the North Korean state. The population of Pyongyang sits at just over the 3.5 million mark, over an area of 3194 square kilometers. 
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Seoul is the capital and largest city of South Korea (Republic of Korea), whereas Pyongyang is the capital city of North Korea (Democratic People's Republic of Korea).
sami ullah Profile
sami ullah answered
Seoul is the capital city of south Korea and Pyongyang is the capital city of north Korea.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
North Korea: Pyongyang ,and South Korea: Seoul

Answer Question