Do All Organisms On The Table Have 3 Germ Layers (endoderm, Ectoderm And Mesoderm)? If Not, Which Phyla Have Fewer Than Three Germ Layers?


1 Answers

Danielle Joynson Profile
Triploblastic organisms have 3 germ layers - endoderm, ectoderm and mesoderm - while diploblastic organisms are made up of two layers rather than three. In addition to this, vertebrates are known to have neural crest from which is defined as a semi-layer.

  • What are living organisms?
Living organisms make up all the living things that we have on the planet. This ranges from plants and animals to humans. The way that we define organisms is by separating them into different species and genus. In order to discover which organism belongs to which species or genus we need to identify all the similar characteristics. If a living organism has the characteristics and functions of another organism then generally it can be deemed to be in the same group of genus. We can also give the same species different classifications and levels of function. The main classification guides that we have consist of genus, species, phylum, class, order, family, domain and kingdom.

  • How to identify an organism
You need to have a relevant classification guide to show which characteristics each classification or organism represents. In order to find the domain classification you need to be aware of what it is and what the characteristics consist of. A domain consists of bacteria and archaean cells. For kingdom, you will need to consider animals, plants, seaweeds and tiny eukaryotes because they all are within the kingdom category.

Humans along with starfish are considered phylum because both species have a spinal cord and a backbone so they must be classified in the same category. Also primates, which are known as monkeys, are part of the family organisms. However, a monkey is defined as an ape if it does not have a tail as opposed to a monkey.

Answer Question