What Countries Border France?


7 Answers

Nicole Manion Profile
Nicole Manion answered
There are eight countries that border France:

  • Germany
  • Spain
  • Belgium
  • Luxembourg
  • Switzerland
  • Monaco
  • Italy
  • Andorra.

What About France's Overseas Territories? If you want to include the countries that border France's overseas territories, then you should also include Brazil and Surinam, because they border French Guyana; and also Antilles, because it borders Saint-Martin in the Caribbean.

And The United Kingdom? Although the United Kingdom does not border France (in fact it borders nothing because it is an island), it is connected to France by the Cross-Channel Tunnel.

About France
  • France is a country in Western Europe.
  • The official language is French.
  • France is 80 per cent the size of Texas in the United States.
  • France has Western Europe's highest point, Mont Blanc, which is in the Alps near the borders of Italy and Switzerland, and is 15,781 feet above sea level.
  • The capital (and largest city) of France is Paris.
  • Other main cities include Marseille, Lyon, Toulouse, Nice, Nantes, Strasbourg and Bordeaux.
  • The currency in France was the Franc until 1999, but it is now the Euro.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
The countries which border France are Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Spain, Monaco and Andorra.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Spain, Andorra, Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany, Switzerland, Italy and Monaco
Vikash Swaroop Profile
Vikash Swaroop answered
There are eight countries that shares border with France. These countries are Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Monaco, Andorra and Spain. If we include the overseas territories also, France shares borders with Brazil, Surinam and the Netherlands' Antilles. The country is also connected to the United Kingdom by a tunnel which is built beneath the English Channel.

The border of France that is in existence today is almost the same as that of the ancient Gaul. The total area of the country is 674,843 square kilometres and its estimated population in the year 2006 is 63,587,700.

France has its place in the group of developed nations and its economy is ranked seventh in the world. It is also a part of the elite group of the nuclear club and has veto power in the UN Security Council.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Spain, Andorra, Monaco, Italy, Switzerland, Luxembourg, Germany, Belgium, Netherlands (St. Martin), Brazil and Surinam (French Guyana).

Answer Question