How Many Planets Are In Our Solar System?


8 Answers

Florent Lefortier Profile
There are eight planets in the solar system.

What Is The Solar System?
The term "solar system" refers to the sun and the collection of celestial bodies that rotate around it. This includes the planets, their moons, the asteroid belt, the comet and the Kuiper belt.

These are all held together and bound to the sun by the force of gravitation.

What About Pluto?
Previously, our solar system consisted of nine official planets - Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto.

Recently, however, scientists began wondering whether Pluto should really be considered a planet, as a celestial body bigger than Pluto had been discovered, and this wasn't classed as a planet.

The debate went on for a while, and ultimately it was decided that Pluto should not be classed as a planet any more - so it's now considered a dwarf planet. Consequently, there are now only eight planets in the solar system.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Before scientists collectively decided to change the qualifications for a planet (meaning how large a solid body has to be in order to be considered a planet), there were nine: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Saturn, Jupiter, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto.

Now that things have changed, Pluto is no longer considered a planet. It has been deemed too small by new standards. There are only eight planets now, and Pluto is now known as a dwarf planet. Two other celestial bodies that fall under this new category are Ceres and Eris.
temuzion victory Profile
Originally, there were nine planets. Recently, the dwarf planet Pluto lost its status as a planet, and there were proposals to add two more planets to the list. For that, we'll have to wait and see, but at the moment there are eight planets in our solar family.
Elgin Ciani Profile
Elgin Ciani answered
There are now eight planets in our solar system: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.

We live on Earth, which is in the solar system. This is in a galaxy filled with trillions of other star systems, which is in the universe.
Utkarsh Bajpai Profile
Utkarsh Bajpai answered
Since Pluto's status has changed to that of a dwarf planet, there are now eight planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.

However, further explorations have come up with new results, and two more planets have been discovered. Research is still going on, but it's been confirmed that the two planets (Sedna and Titan) are not actually part of our solar system.
In order of their distances from the Sun, the eight planets are:
  1. Mercury
  2. Venus
  3. Earth
  4. Mars
  5. Jupiter
  6. Saturn
  7. Uranus
  8. Neptune
Rory Butler Profile
Rory Butler answered
There are eight planets orbiting the sun. Pluto used to be the ninth, but in 2008, it was re-classified as a dwarf planet.

Answer Question