Where Is Azerbaijan?


3 Answers

Akshay Kalbag Profile
Akshay Kalbag answered
Azerbaijan is a former republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (the erstwhile USSR). It is located in the region that separates the eastern part of Europe from the south-western part of Asia. It is, in fact, situated in that part of Eurasia which is known as the South Caucasus or South Caucasian region. The capital of Azerbaijan is Baku. The official language spoken in the country is Azerbaijani.

It declared itself an independent country (from the former Soviet Union) on August 30, 1991, but the independence was finally achieved on December 25 the same year. Azerbaijan covers a total area of about 86, 600 square kilometres and has a total population of approximately 8,411,000 (according to the 2005 census of population). It has a density of population of about 97 persons per square kilometre. The neighbours of Azerbaijan are the Caspian Sea to the east, Russia to the north, Georgia to the northwest, Armenia to the west and Iran to the south.
Arlene Fernandes Profile
Officially known as the Republic of Azerbaijan, Azerbaijani is a country found in the South Caucasus, at the crossroads of Southwest Asia and Eastern Europe. The Caspian Sea bounds the country to the east, Armenia to the west, Iran to the south, Russia to the north and finally Georgia to the northwest.

The Azerbaijani people (or just Azeris) form the majority of the county's population. The majority of these people are traditionally followers of Shi'a Islam. Its economy is mainly based on industry. The different industries include petroleum mining and refining, machine manufacture, textile production and chemical processing. One-third of the country's economy comprises agriculture.

Azerbaijan is a secular state but although the country is officially an emerging democracy, it does have strong authoritarian rule. Sine the year 2001, it has been a member state of the Council of Europe.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
On the earth...DUH!

Answer Question